Why I Paint, Part 2

Constrained, 12″x16″

When I’m not present with myself painting becomes a struggle- an emotional void that becomes a chore to address. In the past I did try to paint what I thought would be pleasing to others. It would be a lie to say it didn’t feel good to receive accolades from people. But somehow it was empty. I abandoned painting for years while I did more realistic and tangible things like focus on my career and making a family. All of which were good things but I abandoned something that was deeply nurturing and fulfilling to me in pursuit of all the “should do” things I thought would bring me happiness in the long run. How often have I made that mistake?

-to be continued…

Why I Paint, Part 1

Why I Paint, Part 3

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Why I Paint, Part 2

  1. Pingback: Why I Paint, Part 3 | kammyville

  2. Pingback: Why I Paint, Part 4 | kammyville

  3. Pingback: Why I Paint, Part 5 | kammyville

  4. Pingback: Why I Paint, Part 6 | kammyville

  5. Pingback: Why I Paint, Part 7 | kammyville

  6. Pingback: Why I Paint, Part 1 | kammyville

Leave a Reply

